LIFE GARDENS:  A Workshop with Dr. Selia Karsten    drkarsten@astralsite.com

You’ve planted many seeds.  Create your own seasons to harvest and enjoy the fruits of your labours.  Get in touch with what means most to you and how to appreciate that bounty you can share with your family, friends, students and teachers.

Selia's Sites:
Selia’s Garden – a rainbow meditation - http://www.astralsite.com/Garden/seliagarden.html
The Fountain - resources for contemplative practitioners - http://www.astralsite.com/holistic/fountain.html
Selia’s Spa – oasis on the web for holistic educators - http://astralsite.com/SPA
Fountain Gallery – photos of fountains - http://astralsite.com/holistic/gallery.html
Notes and Sketches – an exploration of fountains and gardens - http://astralsite.com/holistic/fountain_read.html

Garden Links
Japanese Gardens - http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2099.html
Anna's Attic: Garden Metaphors - http://annayoda.wordpress.com/2007/05/25/garden-metaphors/
Cadbury Commons at Cambridge - Late Bloomers http://www.cadburycommons.com/blog/2010/08/10/late-bloomers-and-other-garden-metaphors/
HeyKid Blog: Garden Metaphors - http://hey-kid.blogspot.com/2006/07/garden-metaphors.html
Around the World in Beautiful Gardens - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Around_the_World_in_80_Gardens
Crescent Bloom: Famous Estate Gardens -http://www.crescentbloom.com/II/F/default.htm
Japanese Tea Ceremonies: Gardens of Japan - http://japanese-tea-ceremony.net/teagarden.html
Lost Gardens of Heligan - http://www.heligan.com/the-story/heligan-scenes
Garden Search (for botanical gardens in the world) http://www.bgci.org/garden_search.php
The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett - http://www.online-literature.com/burnett/secretgarden/
Mary, Mary, Quite Contrary - http://astralsite.com/holistic/marys-garden.html

Garden Videos
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrBvqHV6VHo - Hidcote Manor
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zFbwsAI5tk - Gardens of Japan and China
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5G4tbxhrlUg - South East England
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdZFnqVPDho - Sissinghurst Castle Garden
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fvae8nxzVz4 - Beautiful Flower Gardens
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3gSh2RicBbs - Sizergh Castle Gardens
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amwT_-weevs - Keukenhof Gardens
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MbLnAw4YOl4 - Lost Gardens of Heligan

Garden Blogs
http://www.canadiangardening.com/blog/  -  Canadian Gardening Magazine Blog
http://www.empressofdirt.net - Empress of Dirt Blog: organic gardening in Middlesex County Ontario
http://heavypetal.ca/ - Heavy Petal Blog: organic gardening in Vancouver, B.C
http://citygardeningonline.com/ - http://torontogardens.blogspot.com/  Toronto Gardening Blogs
http://www.yougrowgirl.com/ - community gardening
http://awaytogarden.com/  - A Way to Garden: the source for garden information and inspiration
http://lifeonthebalcony.com/ - Life on the Balcony: container gardening
http://www.gardenersworld.ca/ - A Gardener's World: the magical world of gardening as seen by Veronica Silva
http://plantavenue.blogspot.com/ - Plant Avenue: notes by a novice gardener

Garden Ideas: http://astralsite.com/holistic/garden-ideas.html

Activities:
Make a collection of Garden metaphors and images
Inventory garden-related experiences and ideas in poems and short stories
Translate metaphors into action plans for your dreams and goals
Map a future garden you fantacize

References:
1. Fields of Dreams:  Travels in the Wildflower Meadows of America – Tim Fitzharris (1995)
2. The Cultivated Gardener:  Trees – ed. Kristin Joyce (1997)
3. Heligan Wild: A Year of Nature in the Lost Gardens – Colin Howlett (1999)
4. The New Illustrated Encyclopedia of Gardening Vol 17 – Pro to Reg  ed. T. H. Everett
5. A New Leaf – Merilyn Simonds (2011)
6. Inventing the Garden – Matteo Vercelloni (2010)

Last Update  June 2016
drkarsten@astralsite.com